Thursday, November 24, 2016

Book Review: I Found You by Lisa Jewell

I Found YouI Found You by Lisa Jewell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In I Found You, the story unfolds slowly. You are taken into the past and the future. About halfway through, you begin to connect the dots. You learn about Frank, Graham, Kirsty and Lily and how they are all connected. You meet an unlikely heroine, Alice, an imperfect mother-of-three who is perfect for Frank. The storyline of memory loss was believable and the redemption at the end was rewarding. Finished it in a day.

View all my reviews

 About the Book

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Release Date: July 14, 2016
Purchase Your Copy